Ever since the Green Bay Packers have been out of the running for the Superbowl, I came to root for the Seattle Seahawks. I chose to root for them I suppose because this was the last trip my husband and I took together. We went to Seattle for a friend’s wedding which I had the honor of officiating. The wedding was absolutely beautiful and perfect in so many ways. My friend was married at Treehouse Point, which many of you may know from the recent popular TV show Treemasters. She was married where this show is founded on. My husband and I even got to stay in one of the tree houses on the wedding night. It was a scene straight out of a fairy tale, no lie or fib. Simply romantic and breathtaking. Seattle was an amazing city and honestly one I would consider living in.

So I suppose this is why I decided to root for this team to go to the Super Bowl and become World Championships. The game they played before the Superbowl was the first time I really took interest in their quarterback Russell Wilson. Every interview he gave I became so inspired by. He had all of these little tidbits of wisdom he carried with him every single day and his faith spoke loud and clear. Listening to athlete interviews in general is always so amazing and simply inspiring. They have, they want, they know what it takes to become the best they can be. They have that mentality I love to pick at and observe.

Anyways, at the end of the game yesterday Russell Wilson said in one of his interviews that his dad would always tell him, “Why not you?” about the great people he had looked up to and hoped to be like. “Why not you?”

I thought this was absolutely phenomenal and such great wisdom. Have you told your children or people who have these crazy dreams yet realistic at the same time, “Why not you,” when they are feeling doubtful or fearful of making it come into reality? We can’t start too young to build that self-esteem up in our children and we can never be too old to build that self-esteem up in adults. I always tell myself when I see other people doing what I want to someday get paid to do and am feeling the doubt start to fill in, “If they can do it, then I can do it.” Because I know I can. They are no more equipped than I am. And same with you, if they can do it, than you can do it. Why not you? Why not me? Why not any of us?

I have learned from the people who have went before me. The people that are doing what they love to do for a living and once told themselves while looking at those who were doing what they hoped to one day get paid to be doing, “Why not me? If they can do it, then I can do it. Why not me?”

So keep this in the back of your mind ready to say when doubt creeps in and tries to wash away those dreams; let hope whisper, “Why not you?”

                                                                                                                Love & Blessings,

                                                                                                                         TLE with tlc

 

