I work with kids who are naughty. I work with kids who get in trouble quite a bit whether it be with the law or just authority figures in general. Now I’m not sure how I ended up doing what I am doing exactly, but I do know that although the job is challenging and some days these kids make me want to pull out my hair and bang my head against the wall at the same time, I do enjoy what I do. As far back as I can remember when I was in school and would get paired with a younger kid to help read or tutor or whatever, in my eyes, I would always get the naughtiest kid in the room. I would get the one with the shortest attention span, the one who hated homework and school, the one who told me this was stupid, the one who threw things at other kids and me, the one who did this and the one who did that. I remember getting upset all the time and thinking, the teacher (or whoever) did this on purpose because they didn’t want to handle the kid. I would get so MAD!!

Now, years later, after working in the “naughty” population since I graduated college, I don’t know if there is anything else I would rather do. Well, other than write. I meet lots of people who tell me they would never be able to work with “naughty” kids but the truth is, they are still just kids. Although every time I work with these kids, they do bend me to my breaking point and then twist me around and around till I am pulled so tight I can’t breathe, what I enjoy about this pain I guess, is the challenge they give me. The tough exterior they put on themselves. The fact that they are still just kids.

I learn so much from these kids; more than I ever learn from adults. These kids teach me about life. They teach me about harsh life. They teach me about unfairness in life. They teach me about sadness. They teach me that I really don’t know anything about what they go through every single minute of every single day of every single year….since birth. They teach me that I have NO idea what it is like to live the life they live. They teach me that life is going to challenge me daily and I need to appreciate those challenges because they are nothing in comparison to what some of these kids are challenged with every single day.

So although some days I want to throw in the towel at my job and go eat a big burger, fries and a shake, I decide instead to take a big deep breath and just pray; just pray BIG.

I encourage you all today to just breathe and pray big. Simple and easy, yet so underplayed. Just breathe and pray BIG.  

                                                                                                                                                          Love & Blessings,

                                                                                                                                                                   TLE with tlc

