I watched a Tedtalk this morning via a friend on facebook and it really made me think. One of the things the speaker said was something like, “Life is hard once you start chasing your dreams. Otherwise we can skate through it pretty good.” This is coming from a man who had cancer and now that I think about it, he never did say if he was cleared of it. He went on to say that it is easy for the world to go to their jobs everyday and come home. We have roofs over our heads and food in our fridges. And even for those who are homeless, we have shelters available to them-in this country. Some things I agreed with him on and some things I didn’t but the one thing he said that really stuck with me is what I paraphrased him above saying.

“Life is hard once you start chasing your dreams. Otherwise we can skate through it pretty good.” (He said something along these lines.)

This really made me think because I thought, what would I be doing if I wasn’t trying this blogging thing? Or if I wasn’t trying to read 52 books in one year? Or if I wasn’t spending my days training for another marathon? Or if I wasn’t making it a point to post inspirational, thought provoking ramblings on facebook? I really had to think. Doing all of these things are a part of my lifelong dreams. I could wait for them to come to me but I think if I did that, I would be waiting till my death or till I got a death scare.

This is what happened to him. He was told he had five years to live and hearing this is what took him to start living. To start chasing after his dream. He knew “someday” may never come for him but he knew he had all the other days in the week so he started today. And if you really think about it, we all spend our weeks living for the weekend. “I can’t wait till Friday!!”, we all say. But really, Friday isn’t guaranteed and why do we wait till Friday? Why don’t we start living each day as if we are on a full on war to achieve our dreams? Because this is where the meat and potatoes of our life is found. In our days

I understand being excited about something coming up and looking forward to a specific event but when we are just wishing for the weekend, I think it is time to re-evaluate our life. Because here’s the kicker, if you are one of those people that is always hating on Monday-Thursday, would you let someone take those days away from you so you are only left with three days a week instead? I sure as hello wouldn’t want to take my seven day week down to a three day week. It’s just like if you are walking down the street and see a $1 bill on the sidewalk. We all would pick that up, even though it is just a dollar.

Don’t waste time wishing time away. Lots of families; lots of people would give anything to get time back for their loved ones.

I challenge you to start living each day like it is a Friday. I challenge you to start chasing your dreams every day. Whatever that means doing for you. Life is what YOU make it. The dreams planted in your heart are waiting to be watered and harvested. Water and harvest them every day…….and just act like it is Friday…….every day.    

                                                                                                                                            Love & Blessings,

                                                                                                                                                     TLE with tlc

 

