1383920575997

Have you ever met someone or read about someone who was living an adventure sitting on their couch? I haven’t but I guess you could live a life of adventure on your couch…maybe….maybe not? I guess it would look something like laughing at the TV, throwing things at the TV, commenting on the TV; basically it wouldn’t be living a life of adventure on the couch but watching others live a life of adventure from the couch.

Every time I am driving to and from work I like to look at all of the houses I pass by. I wonder to myself, what kind of life are those people living? I wonder if they are excited about every day or if they are dragging through every day? I wonder if they are living a life full of excitement or a life full of fear? My mind goes crazy with questions because I am curious about people by nature. Learning about others is so interesting to me. How we live is so interesting to me. Why some people live and why some people don’t is interesting to me. Everything is interesting to me about us.

Steve Jobs said he would ask himself this question every single morning, “If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.”

This question has stuck with me since I first watched his Commencement Speech from Stanford in 2005. If you haven’t watched it, DO! It is the most inspiring speech I have heard to date. And we all know how inspiring Steve Jobs was.

I used to dread the days ahead when I would get up in the mornings. For me it was the pattern of monotonous. It was the feeling of hopelessness that ate at my soul. I had no meaning. I felt like I didn’t matter. I felt like I had no purpose. I was repeating the same day everyday. But when I was introduced to this speech along with many other inspirational and thought provoking ideas, my outlook slowly but surely began to change. I began to crave life again. I began to crave living out loud recklessly and abundantly. I began to read more (my first love), I began to spend time with God more, I began to run again, I started to turn off the TV and turn on some music instead, I began to look for adventure instead of hoping it would come to me. It has been four years since I have been living an off the couch adventure. And I am telling you, off the couch is so much more fulfilling then on the couch. It takes more energy at first but the momentum of it picks up pretty fast and what once started out as a slow crawl turned into a slow walk. Then a faster walk. Then a jog. Then a run. Then a sprint. Action creates motivation.

I challenge you all to living a life full of off the couch adventures. I don’t know if there would ever be a memoir called, “Adventures of My Life On The Couch.” What I DO know is that there are numerous inspirational, “Off The Couch Adventures” out there. Plenty I have read, but never enough. We always need more.

How are you living a life full of off the couch adventures?

The biggest adventure you can take is to live the life of your dreams. ~Oprah Winfrey

Love & Blessings,
TLE with tlc

