20140207_152206

Book Title: A House In The Sky
Author: Amanda Lindhout & Sara Corbett

This read was absolutely phenomenal. The story pulls you in from beginning to ending. It is a story about a young lady, named Amanda, who loves to travel the world and explore new countries. She decides to go to Somalia in pursuit of getting recognized as a journalist/photographer since this is a dangerous place to go to. She knew she could get photos and stories unlike others who feared traveling to Somalia. A friend and her find themselves in Somalia against warnings from family members and loved ones. And the worst happens to them; they are kidnapped and held captive for 15 long months. Amanda endures unimaginable horrific circumstances that test her strength and courage as a woman who wants to survive and not die in the hands of her captors.

I could not put down this book but I had to put down this book. There were many times after reading parts of her story that I could not stop the tears from falling from my eyes. I had to stop reading. There were times I thought about what I was doing in my life while she was being beaten, raped, tortured, and starved. How Amanda survived her torture is absolutely so powerful and a true testimony to the power of our minds. Her compassion for the hands who tortured her is inspirational to say the least. A quote that has carried with me since reading it while Amanda is being violated is a voice she heard that said, “See? You are okay Amanda. It’s only your body that is suffering, and you are not your body. The rest of you is fine.”

This is one of those books you NEVER want to read again but you MUST read again. Because in these stories similar to Amanda’s, I am reminded that life is not so friendly and people can be harder and more torturous than we can imagine. I am reminded of the purpose of prayer and how even though there are people I know nothing about and don’t even know exist, I can still send out a daily prayer for those who are suffering at the hands of others.

I recommend this amazing and powerful read to anyone who likes to read. Another book that stirred me up emotionally like this one was Somaly Mam’s story, “The Road of Lost Innocence.” I highly recommend this story as well.

I will leave you with a quote from Amanda at the end of her book, “And hope, we all agreed, is the best thing in the world.”

Sending hope & prayers for all,
TLE with tlc

