The other day I was on the phone talking with a friend I truly admire. She had moved out to California about a year ago but lived in the Midwest for 32 years of her life. She said something to me, that continues to resonate with me, as we were talking about the weather there and here. She said, “You know, I lived in the Midwest for the first 32 years of my life and have been out here for a year now and the first thing I realized and at the same time is hard to grasp is that we all have a choice to endure the freezing cold winters or wake up on the beach in warm weather year round. I can’t believe I chose the cold for all those years while people were choosing the warmth.”

Our conversation was about 3 weeks ago now and I continue to think about it. It also reminds me of the time I was in Chicago at a party for a charity I ran for in the Chicago Marathon and I was talking to a woman about life. I told her I had always dreamed of moving to Chicago and her response was, “Why haven’t you?” My words came stumbling out, “Well, I have a good job back home and a house and I have family and….”

What was coming out were excuses. All excuses.

I continue to think of these two moments today.

We all have choices. Lots of us also back up everything we want to do but aren’t doing with excuses. But take away those excuses and it goes directly back to our choices.

What are your excuses?
What are you choosing?

Love & Blessings,
TLE with tlc

