“If you want something in life, reach out and grab it.”

Earlier today my husband was sitting on the couch opposite me. He looked at me and puckered his lips out. I just kept looking at him and after awhile I asked what he wanted.

He said, “Give me a kiss.”

I said, “Come get it. I ain’t moving.”

He got up, came to me, and gave me a kiss. I knew what he wanted the whole time, I was just being lazy and didn’t feel like going to him.

Immediately after this incident I started thinking about going after things we want in life. Our dreams, our desires, our calling, etc. Or even things as simple as kissing our spouse or partner. My husband was the one that wanted to give me the kiss. I, at the time, didn’t want to give him a kiss. At least not enough to make me want to get up, go to him, and give him a kiss when he was the one that wanted it in the first place.

Where am I headed with this?

If you want something in life, don’t expect others to get it for you or give it to you without you putting in the work to get it. No one can do your work for you and if they do, then it is not really your work at all and it won’t be good work. It will be work without sweat. People see through this type of work all the time. We try to fake it like we did the work.

So if you want something in life, go get it. Go after it. Don’t expect others to help. If others help you, think of it as an added bonus. On the flip side, don’t be afraid to ask others for help. That is okay. But if you ask others for help, make sure to thank them. But just because you want something, don’t expect the world to stop and suddenly want to help you. Although many people are ever so willing to help, you will find there are a fair amount of people out there not willing to.

My husband wanted a kiss but he had to go get it. He went for it. If you want something, go get it. And when people slap your hand away, reach out to grab it again. One day your hands will eventually wrap it’s fingers right around it.

Love & Blessings,
TLE with tlc

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

