If you want something, ask for it.

I was at a client’s home the other day shadowing a co-worker of mine and I really had to go to the bathroom. I had to go since getting there. We were about an hour into our visit and I was in pain. I couldn’t hold it any longer. I couldn’t even pay attention to what was being talked about. All I could think about was, I really have to pee. How can I pee? Is it professional for me to ask to use their bathroom? Oh man, it really doesn’t matter because I have to pee. Just ask Tara. Just ask to use their bathroom. Say, would you mind if I used your bathroom or can I use your bathroom? Just ask. Then after about ten more minutes of this going on in my head and me in extreme pain about to pee my pants right there, I blurted it out, “Would you mind if I used your bathroom?”
Their answer was, “Sure!”
And good thing because I was already on my way to it before they answered.

This incident just made me think of how silly I was being. I was one question away from relief. Yet, that one question took me over an hour to ask. How ridiculous! For some of us, that one question may take us years to ask.

There are so many of us who have so many questions we just want to ask others. Some are out of being nosey and some are out of just wanting to know the answers to so we grow and learn more. Asking questions is okay. I’m not sure when we became so afraid of asking. If you watch kids, they have no issues asking the hard questions or even being afraid to ask silly questions. They are curious about everything so they just ask away. Sure, sometimes we are told answers we don’t want to hear but it really doesn’t hurt us physically. Even being told no doesn’t hurt us physically.

My point, ask. Ask questions. If someone tells you “No”, just ask someone else. But whatever you do, don’t stop asking. Don’t be afraid like I was where you are to the point where you are in so much pain that it is all you can focus on. Don’t get to the point where you may have caused more issues than asking in the first place.

Just ask!

Love & Blessings,
Tara

