Food For Thought:

Kids aren’t following our rules.

So what do we do? Up the sanctions. Making it harder for them to follow through.

So what do they do? They continue to fail at following the rules.

So what do we do? We up the sanctions even more.

And what do they do? They continue to fail at following through.

“I’ve told my child to clean his room over 100 times now and he still hasn’t done it. Who is the slower learner?”

Maybe instead of upping the punishment for our kids at home or kids we work with, we need to up a different area. Maybe give more love, more affection, more quality time, more joy, more dinner time, more bonding time; more something time other than punishment.

Otherwise, I continue to ask myself, are we just setting our kids up for failure from the start?

The kid has failed his drug test over 3 times. So what do I do? I take more things away. I take away more of his freedom. Even doing this, he continues to fail his drug test. I continue to take away more freedoms from him. He continues to fail his drug test.

Who do you think is the slower learner?

When will we learn?

Kids are crying out for help. Yet we continue to look in a different direction. I am not saying I know the answers but I am saying that we definitely do not know the solution.

We are the insane ones. Not the kids.

Love & Blessings,
Tara

