The other day I was driving behind a car going 60 miles per hour when all of the sudden they slammed their brakes on. I slammed mine on too and thought, what the hell are they stopping for?!?! There was no reason for them to stop that I could see. Then, from the right side of their car, comes scurrying a little squirrel to the other side of the road. The car in front of me slammed their brakes on at 60 miles an hour for a little squirrel. What?! Why?! It wasn’t like we were in a 25 mile an hour zone. We were on a highway going 60 miles an hour.

I could definitely relate this incident to life. How many times do we make a big deal over a small deal in the first place? Just like the car ahead of me slamming on the breaks going 60, to save a squirrel. I am all for saving animals but not at the expense of possibly causing an accident to a human being.

We all have problems; some big and some small. Think about the problem before you slam your brakes on for a small problem that has a ripple effect and can impact others in a much more serious and harmful way.

If it had been a bigger animal running across the highway, such as a deer, I could understand slamming your brakes on but for a squirrel…..there are bigger fish to fry at a different time.

Pick your battles wisely. Don’t sweat the small stuff.

Trust me, bigger “animals” will run across your path soon enough……unfortunately.

Love & Blessings,

Tara  

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

