A couple weekends ago I went backpacking for my first time ever. It. Was. Awesome. Talk about freedom. Talk about being present. Talk about embracing nature. Talk about living. With no connection to anything other than that moment, it was the most alive I have felt for days. I was with a few friends but I had the world with me and everything I needed.

Isn’t it crazy how we can have all of the material items we need, everything at our fingertips, ready to dispose whatever we no longer find useful, yet we can still feel like we are missing out on life? When I went backpacking, I had to have everything I needed for those 3 days on my back in a pack. I had to pack my food, a change of clothes, warm clothes, rain gear, a sleeping bag, a tent, bug spray, toilet paper, and I know I am missing so much more. Thank God we were with experienced backpackers. In those 3 days, a new adventure was born inside of me. A new love for hiking and backpacking. An appetite for life. A love to live. To really live.

Hiking and being in the mountains also brought back my desire to start Snowboarding again. When I was about 27 years old, and in the process of planning a wedding, I decided to give up something I loved for a while-snowboarding. I figured I was getting older and since I was getting married, I would most likely have kids right away, and start a family. So I figured it was time to give up that love for a while. While, 3 years later and life is not how I expected it to be and I want my snowboarding back!

Life will throw us curves. Life will throw us twists and turns when we think we are headed down a pretty straight path. No matter what life throws at you, don’t give up what you love. Yes, things will change, we will have to adjust BUT adjusting doesn’t mean having to give up on the things that bring us joy and freedom in life.

The rest of my 30th year, I am on a quest to return back to ALL the things I truly enjoy doing-get them back and my only purpose-do more of those things. Period. I want to run my guts out going after my passions. Going after life. I like to think our passions are the life God planted in each of us individually for a specific purpose. I don’t want to miss that purpose because I have decided to play it safe and follow the masses. I don’t want to miss my purpose. And, I don’t want you to either. I have started a list of things I want to accomplish in 2015. It is a list full of things that will make me uncomfortable sometimes, but it is a list of things that I love and want to do. I am trying not to focus on how I will make a living doing what I love, but simply just doing what I love doing for a living. I challenge you to do this too.

Life is so short. It is so short.

I don’t just want to make a living. I want to make a life. And when I die, I want to leave behind a remarkable story. Why? Because remarkable people get remarked on. I want people to know I was here. And, I want everyone else to know that you were here too.

Let’s all leave our indentations behind for others to be encouraged and inspired by.

Love,

T

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

