I was walking behind our fellow backpackers when one slipped and almost fell. Rest assure, he caught himself and didn’t get hurt. But, know what I did?

I laughed. Hard.

It wasn’t one of my nicest moments but in that moment, I found humor in another one’s, almost, hurt. But, I wasn’t looking at the hurt, I was looking at the person’s actions.

This moment just got me thinking about life. About how we all have the tendency to take things so serious at times-some of us more than others. When I was 25 I was on a quest to get rid of all the serious pressures in my life. And, I did just that. Now at 30, I find myself on the same quest.

Sometimes we let life pile up a bunch of garbage in the form of responsibilities and bills and schedules and not so fun stuff that we choose to do but I am not so sure why and so much more. Five years after turning 25, I am back to sorting through the piles of garbage and slimming down to the basics once again.

So yes, I laugh more and tend to be on the “not so serious about life” side now. A side I love. A side that is far more fun than the “oh so serious” side.

I did ask if he was okay……after I was able to stop laughing.

Go laugh more. Get rid of the garbage you really don’t need. Come on ova to the “not so serious about life” side.

I and others are waiting to greet you.

Love,

T

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

