She had been talking to him in midsentence as he walked through the kitchen and into the living room. As her husband walked past her in the kitchen, he even muttered something like, “Yeah.” As if he was listening to her. When she realized she was still talking and he wasn’t even in the kitchen anymore, she went into the living room and said to her husband, “Really?”

Her husband looked at her a little puzzled and said, “What?”

“I was talking to you and you weren’t even there anymore.”

“You were talking??”

Oh, men. How many times do we tell our significant others something only to learn later that they weren’t even listening? Or their claim to fame is, “I forgot.”

When my friend told me this story, we were bursting with laughter. At the time I’m sure it wasn’t so funny but looking back, it was comical. And we laughed about it. We laughed at the whole situation. We laughed at her husband. And we laughed at each other. What an idiot, we thought (in good fun).

There will be plenty of times in our lives where we will want to take an empty beer bottle to the back of our significant other’s head-just to knock some sense into them or knock something out of them. We will be mad, angry, upset, frustrated; ready to go at them with claws out and fangs full of venom. In these moments, it is hard not to give them a piece of our mind or SCREAM REALLY LOUD so for once they may actually HEAR us. I simply encourage you to take a step back in these moments and depants the man. Seriously. I remember an ex-boyfriend of mine who did this to me when we were fighting. It did make me more upset for a minute but then I just laughed. And continued to laugh. Then laughed even more. The fight was over. It was done. All because he depants’d me.

Depants the man next time he peos you off. Let me know how it works.

Love & Blessings,

Tara

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

