“What is life?”

I asked this question on a Thursday night while hanging out with some friends. I had a few drinks in me when I started to get all philosophical because, well, that’s just me.

I said, “Life….Really…..What is life?” I then started looking at my hand and said, “Hand…..What is a hand?” All the while rotating my hand in a circular motion looking at it quizzically.

I mean really. What is anything? Do we really have the power to control our destiny? Do we really have the power to dictate the direction our life goes in? Or are some choices made for us? Is there such thing as divine intervention? Is it we make some choices while others make them for us or are we always making our own choices? Does life really boil down to our reaction to our circumstances? Or is it so much more than that? Can we really control our destiny or is it really up to God? Or is it a combination of both?

I can think of some of the best things in my life that have ever happened to me…..only to have them taken away from me a short time later. Taken from me out of my control. They were the best things and at the same time, the things that made me most sad when taken. So is life knowing the happiest feelings you will ever know because you know the saddest feelings you will ever know?

How else do we know the highs if we never truly experience the lows? How else will we ever know what we want in life if we never know what it is exactly we don’t want? How will we ever learn from our mistakes if we never make any? How else will we experience heartache if we never allow anyone to break our hearts? How else will we ever know how to truly live if we never know what it is like to lose someone we love to death?

The questions could go on and on and sometimes these are the questions I sit and think about for long periods of time…..even when I am feeling a little tipsy. I love to ponder life. I love to know that I am truly living. Even though sometimes I have to ask myself, “Am I truly living? Is life really about living all out balls to the wall life or is it about taking your time and cherishing the moments or is it both…..living balls to the wall in each and every moment?” Oh, life.

So I ask you, “What is life?”

Love & Blessings,

Tara

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

