I want to be a writer. My dream is to publish books….New York Times Bestselling books. I dream of the day my book is delivered to my home in hardcover form. The smell of it, the feeling of the pages being thumbed through, the pen I am signing my books with….ah, I can’t wait. Everytime I go to a bookstore or the library I get this intense feeling. It is a feeling that is hard to describe because there are so many emotions-both high and low attached to it. At ease, at home, at peace, downright excitement, a rush of energy, being in my present yet catching a glimpse of my future; yes, all of this plus so much more.

Here’s the thing though. I’m not one yet. I haven’t even started writing a book yet. Lately I have been dabbling in fiction when I thought for sure I would write nonfiction. Either way what I need to do is start writing my book. My-messy-first-draft-where-I-will-cut-many-pages-out-of-it-before-it-ever-is-perfect-to-me-book. I just need to start. Because until it happens, it won’t happen.

I am reading my way to writing my first book. I am reading 100 books before I turn 31. I am practicing writing daily. I have many good stories going on up there in this head of mine. I am finding out and learning how much more fun fiction can be. Funny thing is, it brings me right back to my childhood days when I would write stories all the time….and read stories all the time.

What is your dream? What are you doing to go after it? Sometimes it won’t make sense what we are doing but I challenge you to have the courage to keep following your heart’s lead. It knows, God knows, what He is doing and where He is leading.

My every intention will always be to get to that first published book, even when it takes me on a major detour.

Until it happens, it won’t happen.

Love & Blessings,

Tara

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

