If you were to gather a team of friends and family to surround you during a difficult time, would you like people on your team who give a f*%# or people who don’t give a f*%# ?

Part of my job is to set up teams for children and families. I love this part. It’s exciting. It’s new. It’s untraditional. It’s just super awesome. The thing is, sometimes I run into people wanting to be on a team that don’t really give a f*%# about the child or the family. I hate to say this but usually it’s always a service provider. What? Yes. Someone that is in the “caring” profession but doesn’t “care” or at least doesn’t “care” about that child and family.

Here’s the thing. I never thought I would end up doing what I am doing in Corporate America. But, here I am. My passion is not working with kids but I do truly enjoy it. I enjoy the challenge of it, I enjoy learning from kids, and I appreciate learning about other people’s sufferings. Not because I am happy other people suffer BUT because it reminds me that other people suffer besides me…or you. Little itty bitty kids and youth suffer. And this my friends, breaks my heart. Every single time. Every single damn time. And we should NEVER just stand by while someone is suffering. I can’t not hear a story and just accept the suffering a kid endures. I can’t not hear a story and not want to help. I want to help. I have to help. I am drawn to help. My passion is not working with kids. I just care. I care. I CARE.

So when I meet people in the “caring” profession yet they really don’t “care”, it makes me angry. It makes me upset. It makes me SO flippin MAD. But you know what I do? I take this anger and I take this upset and I take this SO MAD and I use it to fuel me with the youth. I use it to help this child. I use it to help this family. Because I give a f*%#.

If I was going through a difficult time and I needed help and support from multiple people in different services including my friends and family on my team, you bet I would want people who give a f*%# on my team, not people who don’t give a f*%#.

Wouldn’t you?

You don’t need passion to care about something deeply. You just need to simply care. You just need to simply give a f*%#.

Love & Blessings,

Tara

P.S. Sorry for all the F-Bombs. :/

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

