I have big brown curly hair. Sometimes it is like a huge frizzy mess and other times it looks pretty decent. The other day I ran into a friend who I hadn’t seen in about 13 years. I thought he might not recognize me so when he did I said, “I’m surprised you remember me since it’s been so long!” Side note: I am always surprised when people remember me from school aged days. For some reason I always think people don’t remember me. End side note. Anyways, his reply was grand. He said, “Of course I would remember you. Big hair and a beautiful smile! How can you forget that?” That made me smile. I have a huge smile.

When I was little I hated my hair. I hated it was curly. I had no control over it and nor did I want to learn how to control it so I just put it up. All. The. Time. I remember in grade school one time standing in line to get our pictures taken and the lady with the comb said to me, “Oh, your hair looks so beautiful! I won’t comb through it!” When I got my picture back in print I screamed. I stared at the picture my mouth open in shock. My hair looked like a bird’s nest. A wild untamed bird’s nest. Not cool. From then on I started wearing it up mostly. I also tried straightening it every morning but once I got into High School, it was no fun to do this every morning. It took too long and I just didn’t care anymore. But now, now at 30 years old, I love my hair. I really started to appreciate this big curly mop around the age of 20 years old I would say. I learned to work with it. I tried different hair products, different blow drying techniques, different hair cuts-long hair vs. short hair, combs and brushes; I tried it all. Now I wear my hair in its natural state. All. The. Time. And, I love it. It is super easy to do! Why did it take me so long to figure this out before??

My point, just like in life we sometimes have to figure things out. We have to figure out what works and what doesn’t work. I couldn’t change my hair. It was naturally curly. So the only option I had was to accept it and work with it-not against it.

Some things in life we simply just do not have the power to change. If we can’t change it, then what we can do is work with it. We can find different routes, different options, different paths; just different ways to make it flow better. To make it more manageable. It will take time and patience and lots of retrials but it is worth it.

Work with the things you cannot change. Embrace the unique qualities and gifts God has given you.

Love & Blessings,

Tara

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

