“Just because the masses are doing it doesn’t mean we have to do it.”

My husband and I went to get my wedding ring cleaned the other day. As I was looking at other rings I thought to myself, I would like a different wedding ring. I would like to have a variety of wedding rings to wear different days if I want to. I found one I liked. It was actually for a very reasonable price-nothing like the cost of my actual wedding ring. I didn’t get a new one….yet. But I am thinking for our 3 year wedding anniversary; why not get a new one?

I was talking with a co-worker the other day about teaching children about money. Out of nowhere I had a brilliant idea. I then shared this brilliant idea with my co-workers. I said, “When I have kids I am going to start charging them rent for $2 a month at the age of five. This $2 would come from an allowance they get from basic chores that are age appropriate.” I just thought how brilliant! And, what a great way to teach kids from an early start about money, contribution, and savings. I would keep the $2 a month for them in a separate account they would get back when they turn 18.

There is no instructional step by step book on how to live life. Some may argue the Bible is but I argue it’s not step by step. There is no book that says we must do this first, this next, this second, and this third. So, just because MOST people do things one way doesn’t mean we ALL have to do them the same way. I would even dare to say that life is much more fun and fulfilling when you put YOUR own spin on it.

Breakfast for dinner. Heck yeah!

A watch that says “NOW” instead showing the time on it. Why not?!

Allowing your kids to play in the muddy puddles because it’s fun. Who cares!?

Calling your husband your boyfriend after being married for 10+years. So what?!

Life is much more fun when you put your OWN spin on it.

I guess I’ll let you in on a little secret….the masses aren’t happy. So why are we all following each other again??

Love & Blessings,

Tara

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

