I love hanging out with little kids because they always ground me. They are living examples of truly living in the present. They are living examples of what it is to be excited about everything with no hold back. They just amaze me. One of my nieces recently gave me an envelope with a note inside that said, “I love you Tara.” And another recently gave my husband and I a drawing for Christmas. The drawing was of a Treasure Map with an “X” on it. Another one of my friend’s little one was looking at a book and pointed to one of the pictures and said, “Look Mom. It’s Tara.” The picture was of a boy soldier with curly hair. Those things just melt my heart every single time. I know I am in their thoughts. It is truly such a blessing.

Kids just live. They get messy. And they have fun getting messy. They get wet. And they have fun getting wet. They take risks. And they have fun taking those risks. They ask questions. And they have fun asking those questions. They are naturally curious about life and others and they have so much joy in learning about life and others. The other thing they do that can really get under our skin is they fight. They fight for what they want. As a parent you can yell at them and tell them they have to share but when you turn your back, they may still fight for what they want. I admire that to a point. I appreciate that reminder. A reminder to fight for what you want in life.

So many of us give up easily on going after the life we desire. Why? Since when? Because of who? One person comes rushing in crushing our dreams and we throw up our hands. Not cool. Fighting for what we want in life is a sure way to get what we want in life. We may get annoyed at kids for fighting over their toys all the time but every time they fight, we should ask ourselves if we are still fighting for the life we desire. Are we still fighting for our marriage? Are we still fighting for that job? Are we still fighting for a friendship? Are we still fighting to finish school? Pay off debt? Be great people? Go on that trip? Get that promotion? Lose weight? Run a marathon? Whatever it is!

Don’t stop fighting for your dreams. And the next time your kids or nieces/nephews/grandkids or friend’s kids fight, be reminded of your dreams and the battle you are fighting to achieve them. Let their little fight inspire your big fight.

Love & Blessings,

Tara

“Good writing succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell

