Thoughts on perfection or the “all or nothing” trap……

Perfectionism is a pothole. It is a trap. I would, if there was a “Perfection” building, picket it. I see, and have been one in the past, too many people stalling and waiting to have all the information, all of their ducks lined up in a row, until everything makes perfect sense…before they hop on the wagon. Until they give their dream a try. Here’s the problem with this way of thinking….you are missing out on great opportunities by waiting for everything to be all right and perfect. You. Are. Missing. Out. I don’t know if you have read the news lately but perfect doesn’t exist….Brad Pitt is as close as it gets or George Clooney. But no, for real, the longer you wait to have perfect accomplished, the more time you are wasting.

I was having a conversation with a friend the other day about this subject and I said, “Instead of standing on the diving board and teetering about should I wait or should I jump, I say, CANNONBALL!!! Right in. Please!

You shoot first, then you aim. We have to jump in to know if we like it or not, if we want to continue this pathway or not, and to learn what and where we need to readjust from there. It is a learning process and will always be. Ask anyone who has ever accomplished anything or read books on those who have…..it has and will always be a learning process.

Stop teetering and just dive in.

Then look around. Evaluate. And adjust.

Simple. As. Pie. Banana Cream Pie.

We just complicate it.

Cheers,

T

